lance hammonds

DeKalb NAACP Candidate Forum for Commission District 4 & 6

DeKalb NAACP Candidate Forum for Commission District 4 & 6
Recorded by Viola Davis

DeKalb NAACP hosted a forum on May 21, 2016 at 3015 South Rainbow Drive, Decatur, Georgia from 10 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. The candidates for CEO, District Attorney, Tax Commissioner, Sheriff, District 4 Commissioner and District 6 Commissioners that attended include:

Chief Executive Officer:
Joe Bembry
Connie Stokes
Michael Thurmond

District Attorney:
Sherry Boston

Tax Commissioner:
Irvin J. Johnson
Susannah Scott

Geraldine Champion
Ted Golden
Kyle Jones
Michael Williams

District 4 Commissioner:
Steve Bradshaw
Lance Hammonds

District 6 Commissioner:
Kathie Gannon (Incumbent)

The candidates that did not attend include:

District Attorney:
Robert James (Incumbent)

Tax Commissioner:
Stan Watson

Jeffrey Mann (Incumbent)
Harold Dennis

District 4 Commissioner:
Sharon Barnes Sutton (Incumbent)
Willie Willis

District 6 Commissioner:
Warren Mosby

I want to go on record as endorsing Lance Hammonds for County Commissioner for District 4. In my years (over 15 years) of working as a government watchdog and with statewide government watchdogs, I have found Lance Hammonds to be trustworthy, ethical, community-oriented, a change agent and an independent spirit. If you want to see honest people in government, join me in supporting Lance Hammonds for the 4th District Commissioner.

viola davis pic

Viola Davis – Co-Founder of Unhappy Taxpayer & Voter – agreed to write the endorsement for voters that support Lance Hammonds.

Joel Edwards with Restore DeKalb agreed to speak for supporters of Steve Bradshaw.

We have two excellent candidates that will serve Commission District 4 and help restore public trust. Our community deserve representation with honesty, ethics, integrity and respect for taxpayers and voters.

Update of New Video: Newly formed Political Action Committee (PAC) endorsing candidates in DeKalb County…

For more information, comments and/or questions: Dr. Curtis Thrasher Phone: 404-284-9984 or Viola Davis Phone: 770-256-0034; View the reasons to elect anybody but Sharon Barnes Sutton and Stan Watson at; , (reasons, articles and video) Email: or

Dr. Curtis Thrasher leads a coalition of citizens to move DeKalb County in a new direction with new leadership. Dr. Thrasher has identified two elected officials that need to be removed from office in order for DeKalb County to recover from the cloud of corruption and restore public trust. We have submitted documents to the Board of Commissioners that show missing money from franchise fee and peg fees with Public Access Television and over $70 million dollars missing from Public Works/Watershed. Ask your Commissioners for copies under the Open Records Request and demand an audit of these departments. Sharon Barnes Sutton and Stan Watson were on the Public Works Committee 5 of the 7 years the committee existed. Jeff Rader and Kathie Gannon were on the committee 3 of the 7 years. Lee May and Elaine Boyer were on the committee 2 of the 7 years. Nancy Jester was on the committee less than 1 of the 7 years.

Our Vote – Hire and Fire Elected Officials
Our Tax Money – Pay Elected Officials Salaries and provide Money for Budgets
These two facts define us as “Employers” of the elected officials

DeKalb County needs to elect new leadership with the courage to move our county in a new direction. DeKalb County needs a new vision.


Frederick Douglass/Quotes If there is no struggle, there is no progress.

Power concedes nothing without a demand. It never did and it never will.

It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men.